Galatians 4

1. Now I mean to say that the heir , as long as he is also a child , is no different, not even from a servant , though he is lord of all.
2. But he is under [the control] of stewards and overseers [trustees] until the time appointed by the father.
3. Likewise, we also, when we were children, were enslaved under the principles of the world.
4. But when the completeness of the time came, God sent forth his own Son to become [born] by a woman kept under the law.
5. So as to redeem those under the law, so that they might receive their adoption as sons.
6. Now, because you have become sons, God sent forth the Spirit of his Son into your hearts, crying, ‘Abba, Father’.
7. Therefore , you are no more [as] a servant but a son. Now, forasmuch as you are a son, even also are you an heir of God through Christ.
8. Howbeit, at that time, when indeed you knew not God, you served [and were enslaved ] to things which naturally were never gods .
9. But now, having known God much more, and are known by God, how come you return again to those weak and beggarly elements from which you were uplifted at the very beginning, to again become slaves willingly?
10. You strictly observe special days and new moons and occasions, and give to them a larger measure of your times and years.
11. I fear for you, lest I have failed and laboured in vain among you.
12. Be like I, because I am like you, brethren. I covet nothing of yours, and definitely would not harm [or wrong] you.
13. Also , you saw [and know] that through infirmity [weakness of health, trials and troubles] of the flesh, I evangelised the gospel to you at that time.
14. Moreover, that condition of my flesh, you did not, for it, despise nor spit at me. But as a messenger [and angel] of God, you received [and accepted] me, even as Christ Jesus.
15. What therefore, happened to that goodwill [which you had] for me? For I am witness, that if you were able , those eyes of yours, you would have dug out for me .
16. So then, has this hatred [and hostility] of yours come for being truthful with you?
17. They are zealously affectionate towards you, but not rightly [nor to your good ]; but [rather] to shut you out [from me]. They desire that you be zealously affectionate [only] to them .
18. But it is good to be zealously affectionate always in good things and not only when I am present with you.
19. My little children for whom I travail anew , until such a time when Christ is formed in you.
20. How I desire to be with you now, and exchange discussions with you because I am perplexed about you.
21. Speak to me, you who desire to be under the law: do you not understand the law?
22. For it is written, that Abraham had two sons. One from the bondmaid and one from the freeborn-woman .
23. Howbeit, the former from the bondmaid according to the flesh; but the one from the freeborn-woman was [born] according to promise.
24. These are an allegory: these for are the two testaments . One truly is from Mount Sinai, born into slavery , that is Agar .
25. For this, Agar is Mount Sinai in Arabia, but is subject to Jerusalem now, and is in slavery together with her children.
26. But Jerusalem [which is] over her [in authority and ownership] is free, which is the mother of us all.
27. For it is written, ‘Rejoice, you barren that bears none; burst forth and shout you that have not travailed: because the solitary now have much more children than she which have a husband.
28. Now, we brethren, just as Isaac [was], [we] are the children of promise.
29. But exactly as it was then , [even] so [it is] now.
30. Nevertheless what say the scripture? ‘Cast out the bondwoman and her son: for the son of the bondwoman shall not be heir together with the son of the freeborn-woman.’
31. Therefore brethren, we are not children of the bondwoman, but of the freeborn.

