Galatians 2

1. Thereafter, fourteen years later , I went up once more to Jerusalem with Barnabas. I took along with me Titos also.
2. And I went there by revelation and set forth before them the gospel which I preach among the Gentiles , and in privacy and by any means, to those held in reputation , lest if I did not do so and act promptly, I would be running the race but in vain.
3. Howbeit, neither Titos that was with me, being [a Grecian] of Hellen was compelled to be circumcised.
4. Moreover, among us were some false brethren who sneaked in unawares, who by stealth came to spy on our liberty which we have in Christ Jesus, so that they might bring us into bondage.
5. Whom we yielded not to: not even for an instant did we submit ourselves to them; so that the truth of the gospel might stay continually with you.
6. But I separated from those who were considered reputable; whatever they were [once] in the past makes no difference to me. Before God, no man can claim to be anything. As for me, those deemed reputable imparted nothing to me.
7. But instead , they saw that I have been entrusted with evangelising the gospel to the uncircumcised, even as Petros [Peter] was to the circumcision.
8. For he who is energising Peter as the apostle of the circumcision, was energising me [as the apostle] to the Gentiles [nations].
9. And knowing the grace bestowed upon me, Jacob [James], and Kephas [Peter], and Ionnes [John]: those considered to be pillars [of the faith], gave their right [hand] to me and Barnabas in fellowship, that we go into the nations, and they to the circumcision.
10. Only that we remember the poor. This same thing also, is what I am eager to do.
11. But when Petros [Peter] came to Antioch, I opposed him to his face, because he was at fault .
12. For before the coming of some [Jews] from Jacob [James], he ate together with the Gentiles; but as soon as they came, he withdrew and separated himself, in fear of those of the circumcision.
13. And dissembled, he and the rest of the Jews, insomuch that even Barnabas was also influenced by them in this hypocrisy.
14. So when I saw they walked not uprightly according to the truth of the gospel, I said to Petros [Peter] before everyone, ‘if you, being a Jew, live like Gentiles and not like Jews, why do you compel Gentiles to adopt the custom of Jews?
15. We are by nature Jews and not from the Gentile nations of sinners.
16. And seeing [and knowing] that no man is justified by works of the law whatsoever, but by the faith in Jesus Christ, for even we [ourselves] believed in Jesus Christ so that we might be justified by faith in Christ and not by the works of the law: because by the works of the law, there is no justification for anyone to be justified.
17. But if while we seek to be justified by Christ, and while so seeking, we ourselves also are found [to be] sinners; is Christ therefore the servant of sin? Definitely not.
18. For if I [re]build again those things that I destroyed, I show myself as a transgressor .
19. For I, through the law, died to the law, so that in God I will live.
20. For with Christ I have been crucified, yet I live on; it is no longer I who live , but Christ [who is alive ] in me; and that [life] which I now live in the flesh, I live by faith in the one who is the Son of God, [the one] who loves me and delivered himself up for my sake.
21. I do not disregard or frustrate the grace of God: for if righteousness is through the law, it means [then] that Christ died in vain .

